CU Futures Class of 2020 begins

By Patrick Thorpe posted 07-06-2019 16:50:26


Last week, the new class of candidates for CU Futures, the Credit Union Foundation’s young professionals’ development programme met in Manchester to begin the programme for 2019/2020.

Launched in 2016, CU Futures is now in its fourth year of operation and this year’s class spent the day at ABCUL’s offices getting to know each other, learning more about the year-long programme, and hearing presentations from senior members of the ABCUL staff team.

“It was great to see this year’s class come together for the first time in Manchester last week. Developing and retaining talent is vital to the sustainability of the British credit union movement and ABCUL is proud to be offering the programme for another year” says ABCUL’s Head of Member Services, Rosanna Donovan.

Over the next 12 months, the new class of CU Futures will undertake a range of activities including meeting the ABCUL Board, participating in the International Credit Union Day celebration at Westminster in October, completing The Pacific Institute’s High Performance Culture programme and receiving media and communications training with broadcaster and journalist, Liz Barclay.

Looking forward to the year ahead, Rosanna added that: "Over the year, this class – who are the future of the British credit union movement – will not only experience some fantastic opportunities for personal learning and development but will be equipped to develop and educate their peers and colleagues and the next generation of credit union leaders.

“We are privileged to have such bright and enthusiastic young people in our sector willing to step up to this challenge. We are committed to seeing all of them graduate in March 2020 and we will encourage, support and work together as a strong team throughout the programme.”

Congratulations and good luck to all the participants in the CU Futures 2019/2020 programme, who are:

Gurmeet Singh Chahal – 1st Class Credit Union

Owen Chown – Dragonsavers Credit Union

Kieran Hughes – Enterprise Credit Union

Connor Keefe – First Rate Credit Union

Martyna Styzinska – Pennine Community Credit Union

Hannah Copson – Penny Post Credit Union

Jade Johnson – Plane Saver Credit Union

Amy Shippley – Police Credit Union