How ABCUL is Run

Just like its member credit unions, ABCUL is owned by its members

ABCUL is a society registered under the Co-operative and Community Benefit Societies Act 2014. It is governed by a Board of Directors who are elected by members.

The Board then elects its chosen officers, such as the president, vice president, treasurer and secretary from members of the Board.  The Board also appoints a CEO to run the Association on a day-to-day basis. 

As a co-operative organisation ABCUL puts the needs of members at the forefront of its service and seeks to represent them at all times. To achieve this ABCUL believes that communication with member credit unions is an essential part of the service it offers.

Member credit unions can ensure their views are heard through channels such as:

  • annual general meetings
  • regional forums
  • conferences and seminars
  • consultations and briefings
  • live and online forums

During the 2020 ABCUL Annual Conference, we were delighted to welcome the following members to the Board:

Directors elected and Co-opted at the 2020 AGM:

Director for Scotland - Gail Reid 
Director for West Midlands and South West - Karen Farrow  
Director for London and South East, and East of England - Julia Daniel
Director for North East, Yorkshire & the Humber - Ian Fletcher 

Senior Officer Roles of the Association 2020
The current representatives elected by association members are:
Director for Yorkshire and North East – Alan Hignett

Director for North East, Yorkshire & the Humber - Ian Fletcher 
Director for the South East – Ian Atkins
Director for Wales – Christina Stoneman
Director for London and South East, and East of England - Julia Daniel
Director for North West – James Clancy
Director for North West – Mario Arnone
Director for the East Midlands– Richard Munro  
Director for East of England– Paul Norgrove
Director for Scotland – Elizabeth Degning
Director for Scotland - Gail Reid 

All ABCUL elected representatives can be contacted by email.